top of page
  • Writer's pictureraelynnminke

JUST MAKE IT THROUGH THE CHAPTER

I saw a post on social media.


It said,

“Breathe, darling.

This is just a chapter.

It’s not your whole story.”


I clicked ‘Share’.


Because it was a reminder that I needed to hear today.

And maybe somebody else needed that reminder as well.


It’s not a good day.

My chest feels heavy.

I keep sighing…exhaling these huge breaths

In an attempt to cleanse my insides from whatever’s stuck in there.


Get out.

GET. OUT.

It doesn’t seem to help.


Whatever is making me feel this way…

It’s apparently going to require more.

More than a breath.

Even more than a good night’s sleep, a long walk, or a sweaty workout.


Maybe a combination of those things

Over an extended period of time

With the support of all my ‘people’ -


Maybe THAT will make a difference.


Maybe that will help to ‘un-stick’ the stuck.


I don’t want to keep re-reading this chapter of my story,

Over and over again,

Like a bad novel that I can’t quite get through.


The protagonist is too depressing,

And the plot twists sucked.

I mean, even I could write better than this.


Oh, wait…

It’s my story.


I can write it however I want.

Recent Posts

See All

A NEW PERSPECTIVE

When everything around you Starts to feel out of focus. And your path forward Is suddenly unclear… It might just be time For a new pair of glasses, And some better lighting.

THAT OLD COUPLE

I want to be That old couple That shrinks together But never lives small.

FROM SCRATCH

I will never Not be bewildered By the juxtaposition Of my inability To bake a loaf of bread, And my body’s Innate ability To create another human being From scratch.

bottom of page