top of page
  • Writer's pictureraelynnminke

LOST IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION

Updated: Nov 11, 2021

Confession time.

I don’t know where I’m going.


I DO know where I’ve been, where I’ve come from.


I can tell you the last 3 turns I made.

The names of all the places I stopped to fill up my tank…

The fork in the road I had to pause at,

And think realllllly carefully about before continuing on…


I can tell you that

I’ve missed important exits.

But as a result,

I’ve also travelled through a few unexpected gems.


I’m not afraid to ask for directions.


It’s just difficult for people to help me

When there isn’t a clear destination

In mind.


My Grandpa would be so proud.

I’m becoming a seasoned ‘shunpiker’ -

Avoiding all the straight-forward,

A-to-B,

Quick and easy routes,

In favour of the unfamiliar,

Freshly gravelled,

Side roads.


The kind that SOMETIMES have the best scenery…

…but often leave a few dings in your car.


I may arrive a little bit dirty and sweaty,

Maybe even a little damaged.

But I have a good feeling about where I’m going.


So, I’m Lost.

But at least I can tell I’m headed in the right direction.

Recent Posts

See All

A NEW PERSPECTIVE

When everything around you Starts to feel out of focus. And your path forward Is suddenly unclear… It might just be time For a new pair of glasses, And some better lighting.

FROM SCRATCH

I will never Not be bewildered By the juxtaposition Of my inability To bake a loaf of bread, And my body’s Innate ability To create another human being From scratch.

COMMON SENSE

If where you are today Is not where you want to be tomorrow... Then don’t wake up tomorrow, And do the same thing you did today.

bottom of page