top of page
  • Writer's pictureraelynnminke

STICK-TO-ITIVENESS

Updated: Nov 11, 2021

I was told a few years back by a trusted friend and coach

That I struggled with a LACK of

‘Stick-to-itiveness’.


If you are wondering,

Merriam Webster dictionary

Defines it as the following:


‘stick-to-itiveness’

NOUN

\ stik-ˈtü-ə-tiv-nəs \

dogged perseverance : tenacity


And lists synonyms such as:

Decisiveness,

Determination,

Purposefulness

GRIT


‘Damn’, I remember thinking grimly at the time,

‘That definitely rings true…’


***


What a burden, it is

To be somebody with such

BIG DREAMS -

And yet such

CRAPPY FOLLOW-THROUGH.


I read stories all the time about incredible people

Who somehow manage to balance all of the demands of

Life, work, health,

Deadlines, new projects,

Parenthood,

And much more…


And I feel like I’m over here

Just bouncing from one journal to the next...

Scribbling down ideas,

And barely finishing (or STARTING)

Anything

Before I am already on to

The NEXT thing…


It’s like having the attention span of a dog,

That’s suddenly noticed a ‘SQUIRREL!!’

And drops whatever it was doing at the time to chase it around for a while.


Except instead of squirrels, I’m chasing:

Ideas,

Financial security,

Freedom,

Expertise,

A super idea,

A SUPERPOWER…


Something that sets me apart

And makes me feel like I have something unique to offer the world.


…Even as a 36-year-old new mom

Starting over in a new country,

And learning a new language.

Recent Posts

See All

A NEW PERSPECTIVE

When everything around you Starts to feel out of focus. And your path forward Is suddenly unclear… It might just be time For a new pair of glasses, And some better lighting.

FROM SCRATCH

I will never Not be bewildered By the juxtaposition Of my inability To bake a loaf of bread, And my body’s Innate ability To create another human being From scratch.

COMMON SENSE

If where you are today Is not where you want to be tomorrow... Then don’t wake up tomorrow, And do the same thing you did today.

bottom of page