top of page
  • Writer's pictureraelynnminke

LIFE AS A HOUSE

Updated: Nov 11, 2021

This is my home.


It’s got great bones,

And it’s seen a LOT of change lately…

But I feel like it needs a bit of work.


Everything is slightly outdated -

Like a version of myself

That made sense 10 years ago,

But just doesn’t anymore.


I’m not quite sure where to begin…

I feel like I want to re-do everything at the same time.

Renovate EVERY room,

Simultaneously,

Until it feels ‘right’.


Until it feels more like the ME,

Right NOW.


I know the vibe I’m going for,

But I’m so preoccupied about nailing the final outcome

That I’m struggling with the day-to-day…


I'm floating from room

To room,

To room…

Leaving half-started, unfinished projects behind me,

Like a trail of my own discarded enthusiasm…


What do I want?


…And how do I get from here,

To there?


Maybe I need to hit pause on this full ‘home reno’,

And do some thinking,

And some prioritizing.


Rome wasn’t built in a day, after all

And neither will this new house be.


Any good thing takes TIME.

And EFFORT.

And a STRONG WORK ETHIC.

I forget that sometimes…


So, in the meantime,

I’ll try to figure out which rooms in this house

Are the most important to me -


And think about what I can do TODAY

To be one step closer to ‘home’,

TOMORROW.

Recent Posts

See All

A NEW PERSPECTIVE

When everything around you Starts to feel out of focus. And your path forward Is suddenly unclear… It might just be time For a new pair of glasses, And some better lighting.

TODDLER PRAYERS

Lord grant me The speed To stop my toddler From drinking the toilet brush water again. Lord grant me The patience To play hide-and-seek with my toddler For the 11 hundredth time. Lord grant me The wis

FROM SCRATCH

I will never Not be bewildered By the juxtaposition Of my inability To bake a loaf of bread, And my body’s Innate ability To create another human being From scratch.

bottom of page