top of page
  • Writer's pictureraelynnminke

PANDEMIC PREGNANCY

When I first learned I was pregnant,

In a city, a province, a country

Far, far away from my family…

I relied on the knowledge that

The ones I would need were only

A flight away.


And then,

Out of nowhere,

My pregnancy nausea suddenly coincided

With the start of a global pandemic…

And as I moved from bed to couch

And back again,

Flights in and out,

And across

Were halted.

Grounded.


But surely, I thought…

Surely, our family will be able to visit by the birth.

Surely, our loved ones can share

That special time with us.

Because that’s what happens

When babies are born.

Families come together,

And hug and coo

And ooo and aww…


But flights remained grounded.

So, we hired a Doula,

In the 11th hour.

Somebody to be

Our family for, and in,

That crucial moment…

Those crucial days afterward…


And in the days and weeks

And months that followed,

We were our son’s ‘bubble’.

There were

No hugs from grandparents,

No cuddles with friends,

No Mom-and-baby groups…


But we did the best we could

To fill those voids,

As we clambered up the steep learning curve

Of parenthood.


It wasn’t how we planned it,

Or how we imagined it would be.

Nobody could have ever foreseen

That ours would be a

Pandemic pregnancy.

Recent Posts

See All

TODDLER PRAYERS

Lord grant me The speed To stop my toddler From drinking the toilet brush water again. Lord grant me The patience To play hide-and-seek with my toddler For the 11 hundredth time. Lord grant me The wis

FROM SCRATCH

I will never Not be bewildered By the juxtaposition Of my inability To bake a loaf of bread, And my body’s Innate ability To create another human being From scratch.

COMMON SENSE

If where you are today Is not where you want to be tomorrow... Then don’t wake up tomorrow, And do the same thing you did today.

bottom of page