top of page
  • Writer's pictureraelynnminke

PLAYING CATCH-UP

Updated: Nov 11, 2021

Tomorrow is my first day ‘back to work’

Since having our son last year.


I’m returning to a place and a routine

That I know quite well,

But somehow it feels

Like after COVID,

Maternity leave,

And a year of parenthood’ firsts’…


That even the 'former FAMILIAR'

Has become quite unfamiliar to me.


My life this past year

Has been a marriage of

Planning and organization...

And ‘winging it’.


Of meeting important deadlines,

And straight-up making-it-up as we go along.


Of appointments and applications,

Resignations, and registrations,

Moving countries and learning a new language.


Juxtaposed with

Daily naps and baby food.

Stroller walks and peek-a-boo,

Diaper changes and bedtime stories on repeat.


My brain primarily operates in two modes now:

‘Complex / Important’

And ‘Bringing up Baby’.


*****


How does one slot themselves back into the 'working world', after all that?


I know it’s possible - I’ve certainly seen hundreds of mothers and others do it before me…

But it feels like an overwhelming thing.


Am I too far behind

To step back in where I stepped out?

I’m playing catch-up

To a life I once lived and led,

And a career I once felt I knew well...


Parenthood changes everything.

It challenges your beliefs.

It modifies your motivations.

It makes you question yourself

And your abilities

Over and over and over again.


Will I be forever chasing the back of the pack,

…just trying to stay in this race I once ran?


I must say - I feel a bit tired...

And I haven't even laced up my running shoes.

Recent Posts

See All

A NEW PERSPECTIVE

When everything around you Starts to feel out of focus. And your path forward Is suddenly unclear… It might just be time For a new pair of glasses, And some better lighting.

TODDLER PRAYERS

Lord grant me The speed To stop my toddler From drinking the toilet brush water again. Lord grant me The patience To play hide-and-seek with my toddler For the 11 hundredth time. Lord grant me The wis

FROM SCRATCH

I will never Not be bewildered By the juxtaposition Of my inability To bake a loaf of bread, And my body’s Innate ability To create another human being From scratch.

bottom of page