top of page
  • Writer's pictureraelynnminke

ROLE MODEL

Updated: Nov 11, 2021

What if I could teach my son

How to be gentle with others,

And at the same time,

Learn how to be gentler with myself?


What if I could help my son

Appreciate the beauty

In everything around him,

And at the same time,

Discover how to appreciate more

Of the beauty within me?


What if I could encourage my son

To always try new things

And not be afraid of failing,

And at the same time,

Follow my heart when it says,

“Take the leap”?


What do I have to lose?


What if I could tell myself

How much I love every part of me

The same way I tell my son this

Every single day?


What if I could dig deep

And find patience for myself

In the good moments and the not-so-good moments,

The same way I dig deep

And find patience for my son

In his?


What if I could just allow myself to have

‘Regressions’ and ‘Leaps’,

The same way my son does,

As he experiences incredible growth, change, and development in his life?


What do I have to lose?

Recent Posts

See All

A NEW PERSPECTIVE

When everything around you Starts to feel out of focus. And your path forward Is suddenly unclear… It might just be time For a new pair of glasses, And some better lighting.

TODDLER PRAYERS

Lord grant me The speed To stop my toddler From drinking the toilet brush water again. Lord grant me The patience To play hide-and-seek with my toddler For the 11 hundredth time. Lord grant me The wis

FROM SCRATCH

I will never Not be bewildered By the juxtaposition Of my inability To bake a loaf of bread, And my body’s Innate ability To create another human being From scratch.

bottom of page